Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

About Us

Vision, Mission, and Goals

Vision Statement

The Leeward Community College Learning Commons provides an inclusive, learner-centered environment fostering discovery, innovation, student achievement, and well-being. We recognize our physical location to be on ancestral land in Hawaiʻi, at Puʻuloa and Waiʻanae. Therefore, we acknowledge our responsibility to uplift and center the cultural traditions and scholarly contributions of Kanaka Maoli, past and present, to enrich the education and vitality of current and future generations of students.

Mission Statement

The Learning Commons, which includes library and tutoring services, works in collaboration with the campus community to provide resources, tools, services, and spaces supporting teaching, learning, and student success.

Goals

Inclusive Spaces

The Learning Commons provides safe, accessible, and inclusive spaces for all students to enhance their academic well-being and success.

Quality Resources

The Learning Commons provides quality resources that support students’ classroom experiences including print and online resources, computers and equipment, research and library instruction, and peer tutoring services.

Collaborative Culture

The Learning Commons collaborates with the campus community to support teaching and learning through partnerships, special projects, workshops, and events.

Customer Focus

The Learning Commons provides superior customer value through timely, consistent, and responsive services to the campus community.

Library Student Learning Outcomes

Student Learning Outcomes

As part of the college's accreditation process, the Library assesses its impact on student learning in these areas:

SLO 1

The student will evaluate information and its sources critically

SLO 2

Students will use appropriate information ethically to complete course assignments

Faculty and Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Wayde Oshiro Associate Professor, Interim Learning Commons & Library Coordinator 455-0378 waydeo@hawaii.edu
Junie Hayashi Professor, Public Services and OER Librarian 455-0680 junie@hawaii.edu
An Hollowell Public Services Specialist, Circulation Services 455-0301 ahollowe@hawaii.edu
Kalekona Kingsbury Manager, Circulation Services 455-0209 kalekona@hawaii.edu
Jennifer Sunada Secretary 455-0377 jsunada@hawaii.edu
Annemarie Paikai Instructor, Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resources Librarian 455-0390 aapaikai@hawaii.edu
Eileen Sakamoto Library Assistant, Circulation Services 455-0678 eileens@hawaii.edu
Ralph Toyama Associate Professor, Systems Librarian 455-0682 rtoyama@hawaii.edu
Cheryl Urasaki Electronic Resources & Technical Services Specialist 455-0391 urasakic@hawaii.edu
Natalie Wahl Instructor, Instruction Librarian 455-0673 nwahl@hawaii.edu
Jue Wang Associate Professor, Technical Services Librarian 455-0672

juewang@hawaii.edu

Jason Yamashita Instructor, OER Librarian 455-0674

jasonty@hawaii.edu

See Subject Liaison Librarians

See Recent Faculty & Staff Presentations

 

Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379