Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hawaiʻi - Pacific Reference Books
Mamaka Kaiao by
Call Number: PL6446 .M36 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
ʻŌlelo Noʻeau by
Call Number: PN6519.H4 O56 1983
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Place Names of Hawaii by
Call Number: DU622 .P79 1976
Publication Date: 1974-01-01
Digital version also available on Ulukau
Resources Available Online
Hawaiian Language Dictionaries
Searches through Hawaiian Language Dictionary (Pukui & Elbert, 1976), Māmaka Kaiao, Andrews Dictionary, Parker Dictionary, Place Names of Hawaiʻi, Hawaiʻi Place Names.
Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of dictionaries, books, newspapers, genealogical indexes, and curriculum resources in the Hawaiian and English languages.
OHA's "Database of Databases" has materials from Bishop Museum, Ulukau, Hawaiʻi State Archives, Historic Sites, ʻUluʻulu, and more.
Contemporary Newspapers and Journals
ProQuest US West Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 270 news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. Includes the Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Honolulu Advertiser, Honolulu Star-Bulletin, and Hawaii Business.
Note: This database replaces ProQuest News & Newspapers.
Honolulu Civil Beat
Online news source with an emphasis on politics, social , education, energy, and the environmental issues. Some features restricted to subscribers only.
Ka Wai Ola (OHA)
Monthly journal from the Office of Hawaiian Affairs. Both current and back issues (from 2011) are available to view online.
Covers contemporary developments in the entire Pacific Islands region, including Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. Features articles that examine social, economic, political, ecological, and cultural topics. Date ranges from 2003 to present, with a 12-month delay for full-text.
Hūlili: Multidisciplinary Research on Hawaiian Well-Being
Hūlili is a multidisciplinary forum for current research that examines the nature, needs, and strengths of Hawaiians, their families, and their communities. Through collaboration and critique, Hūlili fosters new connections and shared insights to mobilize greater Hawaiian well-being.
An island lifestyle magazine produced by Hawaiian Airlines. This resource provides articles regarding the people, places and cultures of Hawaiʻi.
List of Library Periodicals
Hawaiian Pacific items are distinguished by blue font. These items are in print and can be found in with the print magazines and journals upstairs.
Historical Newspapers & Other Resources
Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Star Bulletin
Digitized version of the print index for the Advertiser & Star-Bulletin from 1929-69. Not a full-text database. Write down the newspaper name, year, and page number to locate the microfilm reel in the library.
Hawaiʻi Newspaper Index
Search the index to The Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin back to 1990. Not a full-text database. Write down the newspaper name, year, and page number to locate the microfilm reel in the library.
Hawaiian Journal of History
Made available on eVols, The Hawaiian Journal of History, first published in 1967, is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area.
Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resources Librarian
ʻUluʻulu: The Henry Kuʻualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi
Hawaiʻi's official state archive for moving images. ʻUluʻulu is located on the University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu campus, and the archive is dedicated to the care, preservation, and digitization of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Hawaiʻi. Search the catalog, explore the collections, and watch some movies!
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
A video streaming service providing thousands of high-quality full-length films and documentaries from hundreds of top producers. All users must create a (free) personal account in order to view content.
Films on Demand
Comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos covering academic and career and technical educations subject areas.
ʻŌiwi TV produces top-quality documentaries, news and multimedia content from a uniquely Hawaiian perspective. The wisdom, beauty and power of Hawai‘i are the backdrop to the most important and interesting narratives of our generation.