Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

Linking to Articles, E-Books, and Videos: Examples of Database-Provided Links

How to create a link to articles and other content from library research databases.

Format of Links to Articles, Ebooks, & Videos

These are examples of the links provided by our research databases and online collections to directly access specific artlcles, e-books, and video records. These links are called stable URLs, document URLs, permanent links, share links, or something similar. Instructions for viewing these links are given on the How to Link tab of this guide.

As explained in greater detail on other pages of this guide, these links usually have to be preceded by a special prefix link to work off-campus. If the sample link in the list below is preceded by a red (prefix) indicator, it means that the database has already added that prefix to the link they provide. You can simply copy it without further modification (except when Linking in Laulima). In the interest of clarity, we're using (prefix) instead of showing the actual prefix in these examples.

Some sites work a little differently, and don't require the proxy prefix: Kanopy, Opposing Viewpoints, Overdrive, and Swank.
ABI/INFORM Complete, ProQuest US West Newsstream
https://search.proquest.com/docview/##########?accountid=#####
Academic Video Online, Ethnographic Video Online
(prefix)https://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/bibliographic_entity%7Cvideo_work%7C#######
Capstone Interactive Library
http://www.mycapstonelibrary.com/reader/?isbn=#############
The Chronicle of Higher Education
https://www.chronicle.com/article/title-of-article/######
CQ Researcher
http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher/cqresrre##########
Credo Reference
(prefix)https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/xxxxx/xxxxx/0?institutionId=#####
Dictionary of Literary Biography
https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/xxxxx####/DLBC?u=hawaii_leeward&sid=DLBC&xid=########
Ebook Central
https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/lcclib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=########
EBSCOhost Databases
(prefix)http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=#######&site=ehost-live
eHRAF
http://ehrafworldcultures.yale.edu/document?id=xxxxx####
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic
https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/xxxxx/#####
Ethnographic Video Online
See Academic Video Online
Facts on File History Databases
(prefix)http://online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=######&itemid=WE52&primarySourceId=####
Films on Demand
(prefix)https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=######&xtid=####
Flipster
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eon&bquery=(AN+#######)&cli0=EH1&clv0=Y&type=0&searchMode=Standard&site=eon-live
Gale Virtual Reference Library
(prefix)https://go.gale.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=hawaii_leeward&v=2.1&it=etoc&id=GALE%7C5IXM&sid=GVRL
Issues and Controversies
(prefix)http://icof.infobaselearning.com/recordurl.aspx?wid=######&ID=####
JSTOR
https://www.jstor.org/stable/#######
Kanopy
(prefix not necessary) https://leeward.kanopy.com/video/title-of-video
Opposing Viewpoints
(prefix not necessary) https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/x#########/OVIC?u=hawaii_leeward&sid=OVIC&xid=######
OverDrive
(prefix not necessary) https://leeward.overdrive.com/media/#######?cid=#####
ProQuest US West Newsstream
See ABI/INFORM
Science
Science provides a DOI for some articles. Example: 10.1126/science.354.6310.273
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides a DOI link. Example: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecss.2019.01.021
Swank
(prefix not necessary) https://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/leewardcc360563/watch/################?referrer=direct
Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379