Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

Linking to Articles, E-Books, and Videos: How to Link

How to create a link to articles and other content from library research databases.

What Doesn't Work, and What Does.

If you want to send or post a link to an article, e-book, or streaming video from one of our research databases (or to the database itself), you usually can't just copy the URL that appears in your browser's address bar. That URL is often uniquely generated for that particular search session and/or will not work from off-campus.

Most databases will provide you with a stable URL (also called a document URL, permanent link, share link, or something similar) that can be used to access the article. Instructions for finding the stable URL are in the sections below.

Proxy Prefix

For many databases, links need to contain "lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu" in the first part to work from off-campus. This can take for form of:

  • A prefix before the stable URL -- https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/login?url=
  • A stable URL containing that string, e.g.  https://www-science-org.lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/...

Some databases automatically add the prefix to the stable URL. Some databases show the stable URL as containing the string when viewed from off-campus. If neither is the case, you may need to manually add the proxy prefix in front of the stable URL.

The exceptions are Dictionary of Literary Biography, Kanopy, New York Times, Opposing Viewpoints, OverDrive, and Swank. For these, use the stable URL as given.

Example:

To create a link to a book from Ebook Central, get the stable URL by clicking on Share Link to Book on the left side of the screen.

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/lcclib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1895691

Then add the prefix (shown below in red) in front of the URL (shown in green).

https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/lcclib-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1895691

When you send out an article link or put it into your webpage, use the whole thing as your URL.

Hint: You can use a text editing program like Notepad (Windows) or TextEdit (Mac) as a scratchpad to put together your proxy links.

What Happens When You Follow the Link?

Someone who is on campus will go directly to the article, e-book, or video. Someone who is off-campus will have to log in with their UH username and password before getting to the article, e-book, or video.

Special Situation: Creating Links in Laulima

If you are an instructor and you are linking to a library resource in a Leeward CC Laulima course site, use this prefix instead: https://laulima.hawaii.edu/libproxy/lee/?

This prefix will allow students who are logged in to Laulima to access databases and resources without having to log in again.

For more information, see the Linking in Laulima tab.

What About the "2048" and "2443" Prefixes?

Links that you have already created using our old prefixes, http://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url= or https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2443/login?url=, will continue to work for proxying purposes. But we do recommend updating them to our current prefix as you are able to, because we've found that some networks that have especially strict security settings will block connections to URLs with special port numbers like 2048 and 2443.

If you have embedded a streaming video player in a web page or Laulima page using the old "2048" prefix, you must update the prefix as explained below.

Updating Embedded Video Player Code

If you have embedded a video player on a web page using the old "2048" proxy prefix in the code, it will no longer work. You need to update it to the current prefix, or if on a Laulima page, replace it with the Laulima prefix.

To update the prefix, 1) Add an "s" to the first "http" to make it "https", and 2) remove the :2048.

<iframe src="https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/embed/token/06htuoj5eprnochh64p3ee9j" frameborder="0" width="470" height="390" allowfullscreen allow ="encrypted-media *;"></iframe>

This change is necessary because web browsers no longer allow the embedding of unsecured HTTP content into secure HTTPS web pages.

EBSCOhost and ScienceDirect

You will need to be viewing an individual article or article record to follow these instructions.

EBSCOhost
When viewing the article record, click on the Permalink icon on the right side of the screen.

The link will look like this: https://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=94636424&site=ehost-live
ScienceDirect
​A DOI link appears below the article's title and author. Precede it with the proxy prefix.

You can also link directly to a journal or journal issue in ScienceDirect by following these directions.

Finding/Modifying Stable URLs in Other Databases

You will need to be viewing an individual article or article record to follow these instructions.

Some databases may show a different stable URL when the record is viewed while off campus than while on campus – specifically, the website address will take the form x-y-z.lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu instead of x.y.z. These off-campus URLs will work. You do not have to add the proxy prefix if the retrieved stable URL contains the "lccproxy" string.

ABI/INFORM Complete
Click on the Abstract/Details tab, then look for the Document URL.
Academic Video Online
Click on the Share button on bottom of the viewer. Then click on Copy Permalink or Copy Embed Code.
Capstone Interactive Library
You can use the URL in the address bar (you have to be on-campus when you copy the address). Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Chronicle of Higher Education
You can use the URL in the address bar (you have to be on-campus when you copy the address). Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Credo Reference
Click on the Page Link button (with the chain icon) at the top of the screen.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Click on Get Link at the top right of the page. The proxy prefix is not necessary.
Ebook Central
Click on the Share Link to Book link on the left side of the screen. Precede it with the proxy prefix.
eHRAF
The old interface (still available as an option as of August 2022) has a Permalink button at the bottom of the screen. The current interface does not have a Permalink button, but you can see a link if you click on Cite. Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Encyclopædia Britannica Online Academic
You can use the URL in the address bar (you have to be on-campus when you copy the address). Precede it with the proxy prefix.
Ethnographic Video Online
Same procedure as Academic Video Online
Films on Demand
Click on Share below the video viewer, then select the Embed/Link tab.
Flipster
You can only link to the most recent issue of each magazine. If you click on a cover image and bring up the description of the magazine, click on the Share button on the top right.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Click on the Get Link icon at the top right of the screen.
Issues and Controversies
Look for the Record URL at the bottom of the page. Precede it with the proxy prefix.
JSTOR
Both a Stable URL and a Remote Access URL are shown on the left of the screen Use the Remote Access URL.
Kanopy
Click on Share/Embed below the video viewer. Do not add the proxy prefix. Kanopy works a little differently.
New York Times
You can click on the Share icon (curved arrow) for the link, but each reader needs to have an individual New York Times subscription to view the article. Current Leeward CC students, staff, and faculty can sign up for a free subscription though this NYT sign-up page. Do not add the proxy prefix to article links.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Click on Get Link at the top right of the page. Do not add the proxy prefix. OVIC works a little differently.
OverDrive
You can use the "leeward.overdrive.com" URL that appears in the address bar when you are looking at the record for a book. Do not add the proxy prefix. OverDrive works differently.
ProQuest US West Newsstream
Click on the Abstract/Details tab, then look for the Document URL
Science
Cllick on the Share icon in the column of icons near the top of the article to get the Share Article Link. Precede it with the proxy prefix. 
Swank
Click on the Share menu. Choose Copy Direct Link for the URL, or Copy LMS Link for HTML link code to the video. Do not add the proxy prefix. Swank works differently.
Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379