Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

New York Times: Added Content

This guide will walk you through the process for creating your New York Times Online account and show you how to use the added features.

Added Content

Your New York Times Access Pass not only provides you with access to the NYT from 1851 but also includes valuable added content such as videos, images, blogs, and topic specific pages. The links for these resources can be found at the bottom of the NYT homepage. 

Times Topics

Topic pages collect all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on topics ranging from A M Castle & Company to Zyuganov, Gennadi A. This is a great starting point for starting your research on a particular topic. 

Each topic page provides you with a list of selected articles, resources, and multimedia on your topic.

Video

The New York Times video archive contains thousands of videos covering a broad array of topics. Videos are typically a few minutes long but can be as long as 30 minutes. 

Each video provides citation information as well as links to related NYT articles on the video subject matter.

Images

As part of your subscription to the New York Times you also have access to the NYT's collection of photos. These photos are usually presented alongside a related story. Many of these images are grouped together in thematic slideshows.

The NYT owns the copyright to these photographs. These photos can only be used for your academic work and you must cite that they were taken from the New York Times. Each photograph or slideshow collection will have its attribution listed below the image. 

Blogs

The writers at the New York Times, in addition to providing traditional news coverage of current topics, also provide relevant up-to-date blog posts and twitter feeds which may be useful for your research. 

Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379