Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

Open House: Ralph Toyama

Come and check us out!

OneSearch

Search for articles and Leeward CC Library books and videos:

 

Or visit the full OneSearch Page for more searching options.

What is OneSearch?

  • A "discovery system" that searches across many of the library's research tools and databases.
  • Search results include different types of sources (books, articles, reports, etc.) in relevance-ranked order.

Why OneSearch?

  • Information sources are scattered in separate databases with different search interfaces.
  • Patrons may be unsure of which database to use.
  • Patrons are accustomed to convenience of Google-like searching.

How OneSearch Works

  • OneSearch builds its own index by harvesting metadata from many sources (publishers, research databases, open-source collections, library catalogs, institutional repositories, etc.). This facilitates fast searching, and makes possible relevance-ranking of different types of materials in a single results list.
  • Works with the SFX link resolver system to link to full-text articles from the library's different databases.
  • Real-time interaction with the library catalog system allows OneSearch to show whether library books and other materials are available.

Why You Might Still Want or Need to Search Individual Databases

  • Not all library databases and resources are covered. Some are partially covered.
  • Some content in covered resources may be unavailable due to licensing issues.
  • The search interfaces of individual databases may have additional search and display features not available in OneSearch.
  • Searching in specific databases may yield results that are more focused.
  • Information about specific sources, and the order of search results, may be different in OneSearch.

For More Information

Visit the What is OneSearch? page on the library website for more information.

SFX

What is SFX?

SFX is an OpenURL link resolver system. It keeps track of the periodicals for which we have full-text articles available. It allows our databases and research tools to link to articles in other databases.

What SFX Does for You (Behind the Scenes)

  • It allows OneSearch to retrieve full-text articles and other content from our various research databases. It can also let you know when an article is in a print periodical available in the library.
  • It allows EBSCOhost to link to other databases for articles it does not itself have full-text for.
  • It allows Google Scholar to retrieve licensed content from our subscription databases, that it would not otherwise be able to provide.

What You Can Do with SFX

You can go to SFX to do the following:

  • Look up a particular periodical or e-book title to see if we have full-text access to it
  • Search for a particular article if you already have a citation to the article
  • Get a list of publications that focus on a particular topic

For More Information

Visit the What is SFX? page on the library website for more information.

 

Linking to Articles in Our Databases

If there is an article you want your students to read, sending or posting a link to the article in one of our research databases is an easy way to provide access to it without having to deal with copyright issues (we've taken care of that for you).  However, you can't just copy the URL in your browser's address bar, because that URL is often dynamically generated for that particular viewing, and/or that link will not work from off-campus.

Some databases will provide you with a URL that can be used to access the article. That URL needs to be preceded by "http://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=" to work from off-campus. This proxy server prefix is automatically included in the URL by some databases; you will need to manually add it in front of the provided URL if it is not.

EBSCOhost

When viewing the article record, click on the Permalink icon on the right side of the screen.

The link will look like this: http://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=94636424&site=ehost-live

On-campus users will go directly to the article record, where they can view the article. Off-campus users will need to log in with their UH username to prove they are a current Leeward CC student.

Science Direct

ScienceDirect does not provide permanent direct links to retrieve articles from their system. However, they do provide a DOI, or Digital Object Identifier code. You can link to an article by appending the DOI to the end of "http://lccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/"

You can link directly to a journal  or journal issue in ScienceDirect by following these directions.

Other Databases and E-Resources

View the Linking to Articles, E-Books, & Videos page on the library website,

Systems Librarian

Profile Photo
Ralph Toyama
Contact:
96-045 Ala ʻIke
Pearl City, HI 96782
808-455-0682

Back-up Library Website

In case the regular LCC Library website is unavailable, a web page has been placed on an off-campus server with links to our research databases, so that you can still access these resources from home.

The web page is at: http://www2.hawaii.edu/~lccref

Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379