Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

Open House: Keahiahi Long

Come and check us out!

Learn more about our new databases!

​eHRAF World Cultures and Ancestry (Library Edition) are two new databases that the Library has recently acquired.  eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life.  Ancestry (Library Edition) is one of the most important genealogical collections available today.  It has unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world.

eHRAF World Cultures

Description:

eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.

Features:

  • Cross-cultural database includes coverage of more than 290 ethnic cultures from around the world
  • Contains more than 600,000 digitized pages of books, articles, reports, and images
  • Ethnographic collections organized by regions, subregions, and cultures
  • Subject classification system is based on HRAF's Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) thesaurus

Best Uses:

In the classroom

  • Relevant for many subjects, including but not limited to: AMST, ANTH, ASAN, HAW, HWST, HIST, PACS, PHIL, POLS, REL, WS
  • Online collection of exercises and assignments for using eHRAF

Research

  • Cross-cultural research
  • Comparative and Global Studies
  • Studying individual cultures
  • Exploring human diversity in the recent past and present

This film offers a glimpse into HRAF's considerable history and value as an anthropological resource. View the timeline at http://hraf.yale.edu/timeline for more historical tidbits.

Librarian

LibGuide created by:

Keahiahi Long, Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resource Librarian

keahiahi@hawaii.edu

(808) 455-0390

Ancestry (Library Edition)

Description:

ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today. The collection contains more than 9,000 databases and billions of indexed names.

Features:

  • Sources include censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps
  • Access to charts, forms, and other tools that will help you track your research
  • YouTube channel with videos to help you learn more about Ancestry Library Edition collections and search options

Best Uses:

In the classroom

  • Relevant for many subjects, including but not limited to: AMST, ANTH, ECON, ED, ENG, FAMR, HWST, HIST, HUM, POLS, REL, SOC, WS

For ideas about how to integrate Family History into the Classroom, as well as sample lesson plans related to History & Biographical Research, take a look at this ebook, Family History in the Classroom.

Other sample lesson plans:

Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379