Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection
Online access to world and regional maps, including maps of Australia, Hawaii and the Pacific. Provides inks to other map resources, including historical, weather and country map sites.
Old Maps Online
"Old Maps Online" is a web portal that allows users to search for historical maps available in digital form online. With a simple keyword search or by zooming the homepage world map to a desired location, the user can view maps from multiple online collections including the British Library, the David Rumsey Map Collection, the Harvard Library Map Collection, the New York Library map division and many others.
Ava Konohiki Land and Map Research
Online access to maps showing land divisions organized by Mokupuni (island), Moku (district), Ahupua'a, 'Ili and more.
"OHA’s Kipuka Database is a geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history."
Place Names & Land resources
The Hawaiian Place Names Collection
Available through Ulukau: The Hawaiian Electronic Library, the "Hawaiian Place Names Collection" is a database of Hawaiian place names. Place names can be retrieved by word search, by browsing the collection, or by looking through the list of names arranged in alphabetical order.
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs has developed a "comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history." Search by Location allows searching by island, moku, and ahupua'a.
Hawaiian Genealogy Indexes
Information can be retrieved by performing a word search or by browsing the indexes of marriages, divorces, deaths and citizenship records through the late 1800's / early 1900's.
Hawai'i Census Data
The Hawai'i State Data Center (HSDC) is an officially designated source of Census Bureau data for the State of Hawai'i. It distributes U.S. Census Bureau data on Hawaiʻi, and creates resources to answer frequently asked questions and to interpret census data.
Books in our library
These are some of the books about Hawai'i and/ or Pacific land, maps, places, population, etc. that you may find at Leeward CC library: