Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in our library
These are some of the books about Hawai'i and/ or Pacific history that you may find at Leeward CC library:
Explore, discover and view thousands of items held in museums, libraries, galleries, and collections around the world. Celebrate the rich and diverse cultures of the Pacific.
The Center for Oral History (COH)
The Center for Oral History (COH) preserves oral recollections of Hawai‘i’s people. The Social Science Research Institute of the University of Hawai‘i at Manoa's COH offers resources and access to oral history materials, and trains groups and individuals in oral history research.
The following books from the ProQuest e-book Central Collection are available in electronic format to Leeward CC users. To access the books online, click on the "Leeward CC full text" link provided in these books' Voyager Catalog records.
Available at Leeward CC - Hawaiian/Pacific Collection (Library Use Only):
v.1 (1966) - v.35:no.3 (2000:Dec.)
Hawaiian Journal of History
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest. Search the Hawaii Pacific Journal Index to find articles by subject.
Chronicling America (historical newspapers)
Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Select newspapers by State.
Bob Krauss Research Index
This index, created by Bob Krauss, is an index of English-language newspapers from Hawaiʻi from 1840 through 1944.
Hoʻolaupaʻi : Hawaiian Nūpepa Collection
This is a collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948, and it is made available online by Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library.
Papakilo Database - Hawaiian Newspapers Collection
This is a digital collection of historic Hawaiian Newspapers, ranging from 1834 to 1980, that is made available through various collaborations and partnerships with the Awaiaulu, Bishop Museum, DL Consulting Ltd. & Ulukau. This database contains 11,934 issues comprising 58,612 pages and 379,918 articles.