It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The brand new searchable index is a collaboration between the Hawaii State Library System and the UH Manoa Library. The call numbers shown are for the public libraries and UH Manoa - not Leeward CC Library. Do a title search in Hawaii Voyager to check availability at Leeward. The print index is also available in the Reference Collection (REF GR110.H38 H38 1989)
Search the index to The Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin back to 1990. Not a full-text database. Write down the newspaper name, year, and page number to locate the microfilm reel in the library. For articles before 1990 go to the print Index to the Honolulu Star-Bulletin and Honolulu Advertiser, 1929-1990(REF AI21.H6 I5)
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs has developed a "comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history." Search by Location allows searching by island, moku, and ahupua'a.
An annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest. Search the Hawaii Pacific Journal Index for find articles.
Hūlili is a multidisciplinary forum for current research that examines the nature, needs, and strengths of Hawaiians, their families, and their communities. Through collaboration and critique, Hūlili fosters new connections and shared insights to mobilize greater Hawaiian well-being.
Hawaiʻi's official state archive for moving images. ʻUluʻulu is located on the University of Hawaiʻi - West Oʻahu campus, and the archive is dedicated to the care, preservation, and digitization of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Hawaiʻi. Search the catalog, explore the collections, and watch some movies!
At the 2017 Hawaii International Film Festival ʻUluʻulu honored those who courageously documented the early days of the Native Hawaiian movement and acknowledged how these images are being used today. This film contains a segment from the documentary Mo‘olelo o ka ‘Āina (1984), produced by KITV, as well as newly preserved raw archival footage from the Protect Kaho‘olawe ʻOhana collection (1976 - 1977).
Resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Contains over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.