It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is your easy-to-use Puke Wehewehe (Hawaiian language dictionary) online! Use this resource to translate ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi (Hawaiian) to English and vice versa, as well as to look up place names and legal terms online. Hosted via www.ulukau.org
Here is a collection of Hawaiian place names. The Hawaiian place names can be retrieved by word search, by browsing the collection, or by looking at the list of names. We recommend you first read the introduction, which explains the collection's purpose and method of construction, and also contains a wealth of information in its appendices.
Traditionally, each island in the Hawaiian archipelago was organized and named by land divisions. As is seen in the above map, the way it was divided looked similar to how you might split up a pie or a pizza. When conducting land research in Hawaiʻi, it is critical to know the traditional terminology used to divide the islands.
Ahupuaʻa = Land division, generally (but not always) running from the mountain to the sea (e.g. Waiawa, Lualualei)
ʻIli = Land division, usually (but not always) a subdivision of an ahupuaʻa(e.g. Maʻili, Kūhiawaho)
The map above comes from the source Ava Konohiki which is a great place to learn more about land divisions and see examples across Oʻahu and some of the other islands in the Hawaiian archipelago. This is also a resource you can use to find the names of other land divisions that you might be researching.
The purpose of Ulukau, the Hawaiian Electronic Library, is to make these resources available for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi.
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA’s) Papakilo Database, is the ongoing development of a cutting edge and comprehensive “Database of Databases” consisting of varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history. This online repository of data will greatly increase OHA’s ability to preserve and perpetuate cultural and historical information and practices, thus providing an invaluable resource to educate other regulatory agencies, OHA’s Native Hawaiian beneficiaries, and the general public.
OHA’s Kipuka Database is a geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kipuka links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name). The foundation of Kipuka is the traditional land system, mokupuni divided into moku, ahupua‘a, ili and kuleana.
ʻŌiwi Television produces top-quality documentaries, news and multimedia content from a uniquely Hawaiian perspective. The wisdom, beauty and power of Hawai‘i are the backdrop to the most important and interesting narratives of our generation. Founded by Nāʻālehu Anthony, Keoni Lee, and Amy Kalili, this next generation of Native Hawaiian storytellers aim to tell the stories of our land and our people.
An important contribution to scholarship in the fields of natural resource management, geography, Indigenous Studies, and Hawaiian Studies, Kaiāulu is also a skillfully written and deeply personal tribute to a community based not on ownership, but reciprocity, responsibility, and caring for the places that shape and sustain us all.
The fresh voices gathered in this book share their inspiring work and ideas for creating value, addressing a wide range of topics: community health, agriculture, public education, local business, energy, gender, rural lifestyles, sacred community, activism, storytelling, mo'olelo, migration, voyaging, visual art, music, and the ʻāina we continue to love and mālama.
This volume brings together a collection of papers from a diverse field of international scholars exploring the multiple ways that East Timorese communities are making and remaking their connections to land and places of ancestral significance.
"Old Maps Online" is a web portal that allows users to search for historical maps available in digital form online. With a simple keyword search or by zooming the homepage world map to a desired location, the user can view maps from multiple online collections including the British Library, the David Rumsey Map Collection, the Harvard Library Map Collection, the New York Library map division and many others.
The Office of Hawaiian Affairs’ (OHA) Native Hawaiian Data Book is an effort initiated in 1994. The data book is produced as a response to OHA’s fiduciary obligation as written in Hawai‘i Revised Statute (HRS), Chapter 10. The statutes calls for compiling “basic demographic data on native Hawaiians and Hawaiians” and to identify “the physical, sociological, psychological, and economic needs of native Hawaiians and Hawaiians.” [HRS, Chapter 10, § 10–6(1)].
The Hawai'i State Data Center (HSDC) is an officially designated source of Census Bureau data for the State of Hawai'i. It distributes U.S. Census Bureau data on Hawaiʻi, and creates resources to answer frequently asked questions and to interpret census data.
The indexes were prepared by Hawaiʻi State Archives staff, and the information contained therein was extracted from a variety of records with genealogical information preserved by the Archives. The records found within this index can be found at the Hawaiʻi State Archives: Marriage Records (1826- 1929), Court Records, and Citizenship.