Novel Coronavirus/COVID-19 Pandemic Information: Library Services

Updated January 10, 2021

Library Hours

Services: Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm (excluding holidays)

Services provided online, by phone or by e-mail.

Building Access: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

The Learning Commons (Library, LRC, & Writing Center) is open to students by appointment. Admission without appointment only if space is available. Contact us to pick up materials and equipment outside of these hours.

Library Access, Service, & Policy Changes

• Contact the Circulation Department for general questions and assistance with course reserves, borrowing library materials, and your library account:
  1. E-mail lcccirc@hawaii.edu
  2. Phone (808) 455-0210
  3. Online chat(opens new window) with the Circulation Dept.
• Consult with a librarian for assistance with research:
  1. E-mail lccref@hawaii.edu
  2. Phone (808) 455-0379
  3. Online chat(opens new window) with the Reference Desk. You can also start an online chat by clicking on the "Chat with a Librarian" tab along the right edge of most library web pages.

Available Services

• Research assistance via phone, e-mail, or chat/Zoom teleconference
• Request for scans of Reserve Collection materials. Submit your scanning request here. (Rev. Aug. 21)
• Request books and videos from our collection, or from another UH campus library. Submit requests through the Primo online library catalog, or request by phone, e-mail, online chat, or in person. Make an appointment to pick up your item. (Rev. Sept. 26)
• Use of a seat and table or a study pod for up to 2 hours, by appointment, 9:00 am -- 1:00 pm. Make an appointment for a study table or pod. (Rev. Aug 15)
• Use of a desktop computer for up to 2 hours, by appointment, 9:00 am -- 1:00 pm. Make an appointment for a computer. (Rev. Aug 15)
• Self-service printing and photocopying.
• Pay for library fines and fees. Note – we encourage paying by credit card by calling the UH-Mānoa Hamilton Library Business Office at (808) 956-7203
• Borrowing laptops for the semester. Request a laptop here.

Unavailable Services

• Access to the upper level.
• Browsing the library book collections.
• KiMOBEAN coffee shop.

Special Policies

• A LumiSight health check is required before coming to campus.
• Face covering must be worn at all times.
• No consumption of food or beverages.
• No group studying or working in groups.
• Some books may not be available for borrowing, due to a contractual obligation with HathiTrust, an organization giving us temporary online access to scanned books.
• Library services and facilities are not available to the general public. Guests of students, including children, will not be admitted.

Borrowed Library Materials

Some books you have checked out might not be renewable online through the Primo online catalog. If you originally borrowed the item before April 2020, contact the library for assistance. (Added Aug. 14).

Overdue fines accrued on or after March 13th will be waived.

The library has a wealth of online articles, e-books, and streaming videos in its research databases. See this guide to linking to these resources in e-mails, Laulima course pages, and other online reading lists. The system we use to allow our patrons to access these resources while off-campus requires special steps to be taken when linking to them.

COVID-19 Information and Announcement Pages

• State of Hawaiʻi Department of Health
• City & County of Honolulu
• University of Hawaiʻi
• Leeward Community College

Many of our information resources are online. These include research databases that allow you to search for and read magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, as well e-books. We also have streaming video services. These resources are all available through the library's website.

Many of our database vendors are temporarily making additional resources available that are not normally part of our subscriptions.

• See the list of databases providing extra content
• Our blog post Expanded access to resources in response to COVID-19
• Our blog post Expanded Access to JSTOR

If you have difficulty accessing these online resources, please see the Database Access Help page for troubleshooting instructions.

• National Emergency Library – A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.