Skip to main content
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

About Us

Mission & Outcomes

Our Mission

The Leeward Community College Library provides an information-rich, learner-centered environment fostering discovery, critical thinking, and innovation in support of academic achievement, student success, and lifelong learning.

Library Student Learning Outcomes

As part of the college's accreditation process, the library assesses its impact on student learning in these areas:

  • SLO 1 - The student will evaluate information and its sources critically

  • SLO 2 - Students will use appropriate information ethically to complete course assignments

Library Support Area Outcomes

As part of its self-assessment process, the library evaluates its performance in achieving these objectives.:

  • Access - The Library organizes information for effective discovery and access by all users

  • Collections - The Library provides current and quality collections supporting the teaching and learning needs of the campus

  • Information Literacy - The Library teaches students to effectively find, evaluate, and use information in an ethical manner

  • Environment - The Library provides a safe and secure physical environment for students that is conducive to study and research

  • Partnerships - The Library collaborates with campus and community members by organizing activities and events that provide enriching experiences for students

Faculty and Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Wayde Oshiro Associate Professor, Head Librarian 455-0378 waydeo@hawaii.edu
Junie Hayashi Associate Professor, Public Services Librarian 455-0680 junie@hawaii.edu
An Hollowell Public Services Specialist, Circulation Services 455-0301 ahollowe@hawaii.edu
Kalekona Kingsbury Manager, Circulation Services 455-0209 kalekona@hawaii.edu
Jennifer Sunada Secretary 455-0377 jsunada@hawaii.edu
Annemarie Paikai Instructor, Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resources Librarian 455-0390 aapaikai@hawaii.edu
Eileen Sakamoto Library Assistant, Circulation Services 455-0678 eileens@hawaii.edu
Ralph Toyama Associate Professor, Systems Librarian 455-0682 rtoyama@hawaii.edu
Cheryl Urasaki Electronic Resources & Technical Services Specialist 455-0391 urasakic@hawaii.edu
Natalie Wahl Instructor, Instruction Librarian 455-0673 nwahl@hawaii.edu
Jue Wang Associate Professor, Technical Services Librarian 455-0672

juewang@hawaii.edu

Jason Yamashita Librarian, Part-time 455-0679

jasonty@hawaii.edu

See Recent Faculty & Staff Presentations

 

Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379
Kapunawai: (808) 455‑0681