Culinary Arts (Credo): History

From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
The inhabitants of late antique Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East fell heir to the food traditions of the ancient world. These were richly varied, showing considerable differences between regions and social classes.

From World History Encyclopedia
The following set of entries seeks to explore the different social roles of food that can be identified throughout the world from 1000 BCE to 300 CE.

From Cambridge World History of Food
Culinary history studies the origins and development of the foodstuffs, equipment, and techniques of cookery, the presentation and eating of meals, and the meanings of these activities to the societies that produce them.

From Cambridge World History of Food
Comprises a history of food and drink around the world, from the beginnings of agriculture in the Near East to recent excitement generated by the “Mediterranean diet.”

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
A chef who, through his cookbooks, multi-unit restaurants, and TV appearances, becomes a media celebrity.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
A term for a book of recipes, dating in print to 1800. Before 1809, such volumes were referred to as “cookerie books,” “recipe books,” “receipt books,” or “culinary reviews.”

Heat treatment of food to make it more palatable, digestible, and safe. It breaks down connective tissue in meat, making it tender, and softens the cellulose in plant tissue.

From A/V A to Z: An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Media, Entertainment and Other Audiovisual Terms
A television program focused on cooking demonstrations and food-related news and commentary.

From Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
A term to denote first class cooking. The Ecole de Cordon Bleu was founded in Paris in 1880 by Marthe Distel.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Recognized as one of the world's finest culinary schools, the Culinary Institute of America, nicknamed the “CIA,” has graduated more than 44,000 students since its inception.

The mixture of food and drink consumed by an individual. Major diet-related health problems in prosperous communities tend to be the result of too much food, whereas in underdeveloped, poor communities, it is likely to be too little.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Commemorative banquet symbolizing communal unity.

The importance of obtaining and processing food in order to live has been a driving force behind human evolution and culture history.

From The Deluxe Food Lover's Companion
Labeling laws now require processed food labels to include specific information as well as to clarify four important areas.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Food articles began to appear in the mid-nineteenth century, at first as part of women's magazines,

A commerical establishment where meals can be bought and eaten. In the 16th cent. English inns and taverns began to serve one meal a day at a fixed time and price, at a common table, and usually distinguished by a special dish.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Author. As one of America's foremost authorities on Mexican food, Gustavo Arellano has since 2004 written the long-running syndicated weekly column ¡Ask a Mexican! for the OCeekly, where he is an editor and food critic with a readership of more than two million people.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
French lawyer, economist, and gastronomist, famous for his witty treatise on the art of dining, La Physiologie du goût (1825).

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Author. As the self-titled “Insatiable Gourmet,” Gael Greene brought a sensualist's appetite and journalistic style to food writing and restaurant reviewing, a career that had traditionally been dominated mostly by male bon vivants.

English economist and social scientist. His fame rested on what was in effect a long pamphlet, An Essay on the Principle of Population, As It Affects the Future Improvement of Society (1798), in which he observed that the growth of population is ultimately limited by the food supply.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Author. As the powerful restaurant critic of the New York Times for eight years, Mimi Sheraton brought to the job a rigorous, highly personalized, comprehensive commitment that changed the way restaurant criticism was written.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Restaurateur. Starting in the mid-1960s, Hiroaki Aoki, who took the nickname “Rocky,” brought the first teppanyaki restaurants to the U.S., all under the name Benihana of Tokyo, introducing many Americans to their first taste of Japanese food.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia U.S. culinary expert and cookbook author. In 1945 he became the first chef to demonstrate cooking on network television.

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
English chef. Born in High Wycombe, he became interested in cooking as a teenager during a family holiday to France.

From Dictionary of Food: International Food and Cooking Terms from A to Z
A famous French chef who worked for George IV, Napoleon and Czar Alexander amongst others

It is a truth universally acknowledged that Julia Child taught America how to cook.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
American food journalist, restaurant critic, and cookbook author.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
French authority on cooking, regarded by some as the greatest chef in history.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
As founder of the French Culinary Institute—now the International Culinary Center—in New York City, Dorothy Cann Hamilton has helped launch more than 22,000 careers, including those of many of America's most prominent chefs.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
TV show host, author. As the flamboyant and irreverent host of one of the first TV cooking shows, The Galloping Gourmet, Graham Kerr showed Americans that even haute cuisine might be accomplished at home in simple steps while having a highly entertaining time in the kitchen.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, restaurateur, author, TV host, entrepreneur. In the 1980s, Emeril Lagasse emerged as one of the most exciting young chefs of modern Creole cuisine, and in the 1990s was the first professional chef to become a television and media star.

From The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
British journalist, cookery writer, TV presenter and ‘kitchen goddess.'

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
English celebrity chef and television personality. Known for his cheeky, irreverent style, boyish humour, and campaign for healthier dinners in British schools, he became popular for his BBC television series The Naked Chef (1998–99), which promoted simple cooking with fresh foods, and the Naked Chef series of cookbooks which followed.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, author, educator, TV host. Jacques Pépin is ranked among the finest contemporary cooking teachers in America, both for his seminal books La Technique and La Méthode and for his long-running TV cooking shows.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
US chef. He became internationally recognized as a top chef of Cajun cuisine, a reputation furthered through his ebullient personality, his frequent television appearances, and his best-selling cookbooks such as Paul Prudhomme's Louisiana Kitchen (1984).

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, author, TV host, entrepreneur. Though born in Austria, Wolfgang Puck became a seminal figure in what was called the New California cuisine of the 1980s, upon opening his restaurant Spago, in L.A.

Scottish chef, restaurateur, and television personality. A former footballer with the Scottish champions Glasgow Rangers, he worked at several of London's top restaurants before opening his own Gordon Ramsay in Chelsea in 1998.

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
“Henri Soulé did not invent the tyranny of the fine French restaurant,” wrote food critic Gael Greene. “But he was a virtuoso of the tyrannical style.”

From Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
Chef, restaurateur, author. Alsatian-born chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten created a style of French cuisine highly personalized but buoyed by American and global influences that had a widespread and immediate influence on American gastronomy every time he opened a new concept restaurant.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
American chef and author whose advocacy of organically grown, locally produced seasonal food and of sustainable agriculture has influenced America's approach to food.