Skip to main content
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

Database Access Problems: Common Problems & Solutions

Troubleshooting problems with accessing databases while off-campus.
All of the library's research databases and online resources are accessible off-campus by current Leeward CC students, faculty, and staff. When you click on a database link while you are off-campus, you should be prompted to log in with your UH username and password.

Commonly-Occurring Problems

Error Message that says "Secure Connection Failed" or "SSL Connection Error"
Try clearing your browser's cache, cookies, and browsing history. See more instructions
Bookmarking the Database
Don't bookmark the database after you log in. That web address/connection was created just for that particular session. It won't work if you try to use the same URL again later.
Kapiʻolani CC's Nursing Students
Students who are in Kapiʻolani CC's nursing program, but are taking class on the Leeward CC campus, need to use Kapiʻolani CC Library's website for off-campus database access.
Another Campus is Your Home Campus
If you are taking a Leeward CC class, but another campus is your official "home campus", you need to use the library website of your home campus to access research databases from off-campus . If you need to access a specialized database for your class that is not available from your home campus, please contact our Circulation Department at lcccirc@hawaii.edu or 808-455-0210 for assistance.
Late Registration
If you registered during the late registration period, our records might not have been updated with your current status yet. This will usually get taken care of automatically within a few days, but you can also contact our Circulation Department at lcccirc@hawaii.edu or 808-455-0210 for faster assistance..
You are outside of Hawaiʻi
For security reasons, many places outside of Hawaiʻi are blocked from UH library computer systems. which can cause problems for distance education students or travelers. To arrange for access to library databases from your location, please visit www.myipaddress.com to find your IP address, and contact the Library Systems Office at Hamilton Library at assist@hawaii.edu or 808-956-7853 for assistance.

Another option is to use the UH VPN service to establish a secure connection to the UH network before accessing databases. VPN can be tricky to set up on your computer, but is easy to use once set up.
Community Borrower Card Users
Holders of Community Borrower cards cannot access our restricted-access databases, due to the terms of our contracts with our database vendors.
MyUH Portal
If you are using the MyUH portal to get to the library's website, some features and databases might not work. Use this link to open a direct connection to the library's website, or manually enter the address http://www2.leeward.hawaii.edu/library into your browser.

Reporting a Database Access Problem

If none of the situations listed above describe or solve your problem, please let us know so we can try to fix it. Fill out the form below, or contact us at lccref@hawaii.edu or 808-455-0379.

Screen images of error messages can be very helpful to us in diagnosing your problem. E-mail them to lccref@hawaii.edu.

  • Windows: Press the PrtScn key, then paste into a Word or WordPad document, or save it with a graphics program.
  • Mac: Press Command-Shift-3, and attach the resulting file.

Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379
Kapunawai: (808) 455‑0681