Leeward CC ID Card: A validated Leeward CC ID card serves as your library card and allows you to borrow items, and print and photocopy documents. To get a Leeward CC ID card, go to the Student Life Office in AD-223B. See their Student ID page for more information.
Validate your Leeward CC ID card at the Circulation Desk near the entrance of the Learning Commons.
Other benefits of the student ID card include access to Student Life activities, student discounts, and you can purchase a U-Pass bus pass.
Leeward CC students can borrow one of our 30 Dell laptops, 3 Mac laptops, or 30 iPads for 4-hour intervals. These items must remain on-campus. Laptop and iPad use is governed by the Electronic Device Use Policy.
The Library also offers Leeward CC students the use of laptop and iPad chargers, headphones, and HDMI cables.
|Collection||Loan Period||Overdue Fines|
|General Collection||28 days||$0.25/day|
|Hawaiian/Pacific Collection||14 days||$0.25/day|
|ESL Collection (Leeward CC Students Only)||14 days||$0.25/day|
|Juvenile Collection||14 days||$0.25/day|
|Bestsellers Collection||21 days||$0.25/day|
|Laptops & Chargers||4 hours (On-campus use only)||$1/hour|
|Course Reserves||3 hours (in the Library) or 3-days||$1/hour|
The Library assesses fines and fees to ensure that everyone has equal access to materials and equipment. A failure to return items by the stamped due date (books) or by the verbally stated time (laptops & equipment) will result in overdue fines. In cases in which items are not returned at all, items will be considered lost and replacement and processing fees will be assessed in addition to overdue fines. Damaged items are assessed on case-by-case basis.
Balances under $10.00
Library accounts with balances under $10.00 are still considered in good standing and borrowing privileges are available.
Balances $10.00 and above
Library accounts with balances $10.00 and over are not in good standing and borrowing privileges are blocked until a payment is received. The Library also places a block on a student's Banner account, which prevents transactions such as transcript requests and registration.
Telephone: Credit card payments can be taken over the phone by calling the UH-Mānoa Hamilton Library Business Office at (808) 956-7203, or the Sinclair Library Business Counter (808) 956-8308, ext. 52. Transactions available until 4:30 PM.
Course Reserves are a service provided to you by your professors'. Your professor will place either a personal copy or a Library copy of a text on "Course Reserve" in the Library. They can be found at the Library's Circulation Desk. Depending on your professor's preference, the text will be available for you to borrow for either 3-hours (Library-use only) or for 3-days.
Buying textbooks: Go to the Leeward Bookstore to purchase and/or rent your course materials.
A full list of items currently on Course Reserve can be found here.
You will need to set up a print account:
Printing from a library computer:
Printing from a personally-owned laptop or other non-library computer:
*Note: You must have a print account to use MobilePrint. See the section above to learn how to establish your print account.
Can I print without a Student ID?
If you don't have a Student ID card or aren't a student, guest print cards are available for purchase at the Add Value Station for $1.00. It includes 50¢ credit in the print account.
How much time do I have to retrieve my printouts?
Print jobs sent from library computers are available in the printing system for two hours. Print jobs uploaded through MobilePrint are available for 24 hours.
Where are printers located?
B/W and color printers are located on both floors of the Library.
**B/W printing is 10¢/side and color printing is 75¢/side.
The Library has several devices for scanning purposes:
The Library has two copy machines:
**B/W copies are 10¢/side and color copies are 75¢/side.
PC and Mac desktop computers are available for students on a first-come, first serve basis. Computers are provided for research and coursework purposes - gaming and other non-academic uses is discouraged. The majority of computers in the Library are access controlled. UH-affiliated students, faculty, and staff can login with their UH web login credentials. Community members are welcome to use designated Public Access Stations.
Reminder: To protect your privacy, always log off when finished using a computer.
Computers are located at the workstation modules toward the center of the floor. These computers are reserved for currently enrolled students and require UH web login access.
Public access stations are located along the wall near the Writing Center. Community members are welcome to use these computers.
PC laptop computers are located in the Kapunawai - Hawai'i-Pacific Resource Room. Computers may be used when the room is not reserved for classes, workshops, or special events.
DMED Mac Pro computers are password-protected and restricted to Digital Media and TV Production students only. PC desktop computers in the classroom area are available when classes are not scheduled. See posted class schedule for dates and times.
The open Learning Commons area is a collaborative space intended for students working individually or in groups. Noise can be expected in this area, but we require everyone who is using the area to be respectful of others by using "indoor voices" and behaving in an appropriate manner.
Kapunawai was established as a Hawaiian place of learning in the Library. The room houses part of the Hawai'i-Pacific Collection, a reference desk, and functions as a small instruction and event space. When the room is not scheduled for classes or events it is available as a study space.
The Library's 3rd floor is intended for those who need a quiet space to study. Study tables border both sides of this floor and there is a silent study corner on the Diamond-Head side of this floor with individual study carrels.
Covered drinks and dry snacks are allowed. Please consult the Library's Food & Drink Policy for more information about what is allowed in our facility.
Everyone in the facility is expected to abide by the Library's Acceptable Behavior Policy. Individuals are required to cooperate with Library staff at all times. Students who exhibit inappropriate behavior will be:
The Library is happy to offer power options to its patrons. Outlets can be found on both floors, typically on the outskirts. The Library also offers courtesy charging stations for your mobile devices. These stations have both types of Apple connectors, and Micro USB connectors for Android and Windows devices. The tabletop charging stations also have USB ports if you need to plug in your own cable. One station is downstairs on the second floor near the Circulation desk, and three stations are on the third floor in the middle of the room. Feel free to ask for assistance if you'd like help locating a power source.