Skip to main content
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

About Us

Library Map

Map of upper level of library

Library Upper Level (3rd Floor of the Learning Commons Building)

 

Collections

Library materials at the Leeward CC Library are organized into the following collections:

Some items may be found in special locations, which will be indicated in the online catalog:

Most of our collections are on our upper level (third floor of the building). Some materials are available downstairs on the lower level, at the Circulation Desk near the main entrance, or in Kapunawai, the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resource Room .

Best Sellers Collection
This collection features a rotating selection of bestselling fiction and non-fiction books from popular authors. New titles are added each month. Books from this collection can be borrowed by Leeward CC patrons for three weeks.
Closed Shelves
Some items are kept in a restricted room for their protection. Most of these items are available to be borrowed. Please ask for these items at the Circulation Desk on the lower level near the main entrance.
ESL Collection
Graded readers — short books written at or adapted to a particular reading level — for students learning English as a second language. Can be borrowed by students in Leeward CC ESL or ELI programs. We also have interactive e-books from Capstone Interactive Library with features that support the development of reading skills.
General Collection
The main collection of circulating (i.e. borrowable) books, consisting of approximately 50,000 items, chosen to support Leeward Community College's academic programs. The library also has access to tens of thousands of electronic books through ProQuest Ebook Central, and EBSCOhost eBook Collection.
Hawaiian/Pacific Collection
The Hawaiian/Pacific collection contains books and magazines about Hawaiʻi and countries in the Pacific region. Most items in this collection can be borrowed for 14 days. Some items do not circulate. Some of the collection is in Kapunawai, the Hawaiʻi-Pacific Resource Room on the lower level. The rest is up on the upper level. Electronic access to more than 300 University of Hawaiʻi Press titles, formerly available through NetLibrary, are now available through EBSCOhost eBook Collection.
Juvenile Collection
The Juvenile collection has children's books used by students training to be teachers.
New Books
Books that have been recently acquired by the library may be placed on a New Books display. New books are available to be borrowed. Located on a display stand near the Reference Desk on the third floor. Some new books may be on display in the Learning Commons lobby.
Oversized Books
Books that are too large to fit on the regular shelves are kept on a special range of shelves along the wall in the southeast corner of the upper level.
Periodical Collection
The Library subscribes to a wide variety of printed periodical publications (magazines, journals, and newspapers). The information in recently-published periodicals is generally more current than the information found in books. Some periodicals are on microfilm, which can be viewed and printed out on reader/printer machines located near the microfilm cabinets. To find out what the library subscribes to, view our Periodicals List, or search for the title of a publication in our online catalog. Articles from tens of thousands of publications are available from our online research databases.
Reference Collection
The Reference collection contains books that are generally consulted rather than read through. This section contains sources such as current almanacs, general and subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases. You'll also find digests of current and historical events, directories and listings, books on state and federal laws, and literary and biographical sources. Books in the reference collection are not loaned out, so that they can be available to as many people as possible. We also have online access to reference sources through Credo Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Reserve Collection
Reserve materials are kept behind the Circulation Desk on the lower level near the main entrance. These are books and other materials that instructors have set aside for their students to read and use. Some items come from the library's collection, and many items have been loaned to the library by instructors. Some items may be borrowed for three days, while the rest must be used in the library. To find materials in the Reserve collection, you can do a Course Reserves search in the online catalog, which shows instructor-owned items that do not show up in our regular catalog. For more information, see the Course Reserves guide.
Video Collection
The library has hundreds of educationally-oriented videotapes and DVDs, most of which are available for seven-day loans. Located at the Circulation Desk. We also subscribe to several streaming video services.
Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379
Kapunawai: (808) 455‑0681