Click on our world map and take a virtual tour of exciting places around the globe!
Can you locate the 10 sites below?
ʻIolani Palace date unknown (iolanipalace.org)
Preview of The Hidden Worlds of National Parks: Follow rangers on a journey to places most people never go
Kenai Fjords National Park, Alaska
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
Carlsbad Caverns National Park, New Mexico
Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah
Dry Tortugas National Park, Florida
Continue your journey at: http://g.co/nationalparks [New Window]
A few other parks that offer virtual tours:
Would like to re-live your adventures at the Disney theme parks? Or you've never been? You should visit the Virtual Disney World YouTube channel! You are allowed to jump on one ride per video--there are no lines and you won't need fast passes!
Museums are bringing their collections to you! Here are a few museums in the US that offer virtual tours and activities. Look up the #MuseumFromHome hashtag on social media to view other locations offering at-home resources!
MoMA Live! Live programs, concerts, and events from the Museum of Modern Art!
moma.org [New Window]
Rurrenabaque, Bolivia [New Window]
"Rurre", as the locals call it, is the gateway to the Amazon!
Conquer the world's highest ferrata [New Window] !
Breathtaking drone shots of Lesotho, Southern Africa!
Visit Greenland! [New Window]
Since Greenland has low pollution, you are able to view natural light shows performed by the Northern Lights [New Window]!
MORI Building Digital Art Museum: teamLab Borderless [New Window]
Walk into another world at the MORI Building Digital Art Museum!
Due to COVID-19, aquariums and zoos across the country had close their doors to the public. Lucky for us, a few of them created at-home activities such as virtual safaris and live cams to keep us connected! We've listed a handful of sites and videos on this page but if this isn't enough to satisfy your daily dose of animal cuteness, you can look up #BringTheZooToYou on social media!
Oregon Zoo's Live Cams & Home Activity Resources [New Window]
We can't get over Oregon Zoo's red panda, Mei Mei, eating her cookies!
If you're unable to catch Cincinnati Zoo's Home Safari live on Facebook, they'll post the videos on their YouTube channel later!
The Smithsonian National Zoo animals are given toys and tools during their enrichment activity programs. How do you think they'll use them?
Upcoming livestream and virtual concerts! Click here to view the list! [New Window]
Look up live concerts by genre! Click here to view the list! [New Window]
Hundreds of live recordings featuring popular artists performing behind a tiny desk! [New Window]
Coldplay: Tiny Desk Concert [New Window]
Harry Potter fans, UNITE!
If you're up for puzzle-solving, try out Peters Township Public Library's Hogwarts Digital Escape Room! This activity should take no more than 10 minutes. Being a fan of the series and timing your escape are optional. Have fun!
Sydney Krawiec, Youth Services Librarian
Peters Township Public Library [New Window]
|You need to take a break from studying. Don't care to hear what's going on in the news. Can't read another book or watch another movie. How many more viral TikTok challenges can you watch? It's about time to do something physical! We've selected a few activities you could do at home that could help with the boredom and your mental well-being.|
Yoga with Adriene [New Window]
If you're a beginner at yoga, Adriene is easy to follow and has a sense of humor! There are videos for all levels, timed practices to fit your schedules, and even practices to fit different moods--such as loneliness and heartbreak! Adriene recently compiled a video playlist for April, "Nurture", "an invitation to ground and take some time to nurture ourselves so we can better serve the world around us".
jessicasmithtv [New Window]
Jessica Smith is a certified wellness coach, trainer, and instructor with over 20 years of experience. She has different types of workouts for everyone! Here's a playlist of of beginner workouts!
Or . . . you can just go outside and walk around your neighborhood!
Fresh air is always the best! Make sure you wear a mask and put some distance between yourself and others during your stroll.
Another thing you can do right now is start a garden! It's a great way to get outside and "huli ka lima i lalo" or get your hands a little dirty! Below you can find videos and links about starting a garden and finding local sources for seeds!
EARTH DAY turns 50 years on Wednesday, April 22nd!
During April 19-25, join your UH community in celebrating a UH Virtual Earth Week [New Window] organized by the UH Office of Sustainability. Enjoy, engage, and energize in a week filled with purposeful Daily Challenges. Please visit our Campus Sustainability LibGuide [New Window] for information about more local and global Earth Day events.
No-Sew Bandana Face Mask
|We usually print out pages from this ebook and put them out for you to grab and go in the library. There are mandalas, shapes, animals, patterns, and inspiring quotes. Enjoy!|
Support local! Below, find a variety of coloring page options created by local artists across Hawaiʻi!
Kanopy Streaming Videos [New Window]
You will need to create an account and sign in to access videos from this database of full-length films and documentaries. Use the "Browse" drop down menu to identify and search for more topics.
Check out the film trailer below for "Ex Libris: The New York Public Library" [New Window]. Winner of the 2017 Critics' Choice Documentary Awards for best director, the full film is available on Kanopy. Learn how there's a place for all of us at the library.
Swank Digital Campus [New Window]
Swank offers a limited collection of feature films that are currently being used in various campus courses. Chrome or Firefox browsers provide the best access.
Trivia time: Can you guess the popular 1980's movie that contained the theme song below? Watch closely and you'll see some clips from the film [New Window], available on Swank. Bonus trivia: Do you remember what facility most of the movie takes place in?
Additional streaming video resources [New Window]
Bravo to our friends at the Tredyffrin Township Libraries in Pennsylvania for that musical reminder of this valuable resource.
Don't forget, our full list of databases [New Window] is available to you 24/7. That's 135 databases you can depend on to support your success! Databases can function differently from one another, so if you need any assistance please call, chat, or email the Reference Desk [New Window].
Have you met Libby yet? Like Tredyffrin Libraries, we also have Libby, which is an app that you can use in conjunction with our OverDrive digital collection [New Window]. Learn more about OverDrive and Libby on the "Using OverDrive" tab.
We have various e-reading resources for leisure or scholarship. Please note: You will be prompted to log in for access.
Flipster [New Window] - current issues of popular magazine titles
Capstone Interactive Library [New Window] - interactive e-books with visual and audio features
The New York Times [New Window] - create an account for full complementary access, including the NYT app
General and scholarly collections:
Ebook Central [New Window]
EBSCO eBook Collections [New Window]
Additional e-book resources [New Window]