Skip to main content
College HomeLibrary Home
Close Menu

Course Reserves: Fall 2017 List

The management of items that are "reserved" for specific courses for a set period of time. This guide will ease you through the entire process.

How titles get added to Course Reserves

Print textbooks and other titles available in the Course Reserves list below are placed there by faculty.  If you don't see a book for your class, ask your professor if he or she is willing to lend a copy to the Library for placement on course reserve. 

E-book titles appearing on the list below are there as a result of a new Library initiative.  The Library will purchase electronic copies of required course titles when available. Traditional textbooks are excluded from this initiative as libraries are unable to purchase electronic versions for campus-wide access. 

Faculty:  Submit requests electronically using the Online Course Reserves Purchase Request Form.  Contact Wayde Oshiro, waydeo@hawaii.edu or 455-0378 for more info.

Fall 2017-Course Reserves

Course Instructor Title Format Type and Copies Location
ENG 24 Albers, S. Nickel and Dimed Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 24 Albers, S. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Coast Trail

Print & Online (2 copies only).

See Circulation Desk for print copy.

Online access

ENG 100 Albers, S. Reading Critically, Writing Well Print. (11th ed.) See Circulation Desk.
ICS 111 Albritton, W. Java for Everyone Online. 3 concurrent users only. Online access
BIOC 141 / 251 Ashburn, B. Chemistry: an Introduction to General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry Print. See Circulation Desk.
BIOC 141 / 251 Ashburn, B. Chemistry: an Introduction to General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry (Instructor's Solution Manual) Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 100 Bird, Dave Preparing Public Writing Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 270 Boydstun, J. Last Exit to Brooklyn Online. 2 concurrent users only. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 270 Boydstun, J. Real World Online. 2 concurrent users only. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 270 Boydstun, J. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian Online. 2 concurrent users only. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
SOC 251 Brekke, E. Marriages & Families Print. See Circulation Desk.
ANTH 150 Cai, W. Park: Introducing Anthropology & Select Readings Print. See Circulation Desk.
ANTH 152 Cai, W. Pearson Custom Anthopology for Anth 152 Print.  See Circulation Desk.
ANTH 200 Cai, W. Pearson Custom Anthopology for Anth 200 Print.  See Circulation Desk.
ANTH 200 Cai, W. The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down Print & Online. 5 concurrent users only. 

See Circulation Desk for print copy.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ENG 22 / ENG 100 Cain, E. The Bedford Guide for College Writers Print. (11th ed.) See Circulation Desk.
ENG 24 Cantrell, A. The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business Online. 3 concurrent users only Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 24 Chang, C. The Story of Stuff Print. See Circulation Desk.
REL 150 Chernisky, J. Experiencing the World's Religions Print.  See Circulation Desk.
IS 250H Chernisky, J. Leadership Development Studies Print.  See Circulation Desk.
MUS 121C Choi, J. Alfred's Piano 101, Book 1:  An Exciting Group Course for Adults Who Want to Play Piano for Fun Online. 2 concurrent users only.  Online access
BIOL 100 Chong, D. Adventures in Human Being: A Grand Tour from the Cranium to the Calcaneum Online. 5 concurrent users only.   Online access  (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
IS 107V Chou, L. The Student Leadership Challenge: Five Practices for Becoming and Exemplary Leader, 2nd ed. Online. Unlimited users. 

Click to access

Facilitation and Activity Guide

Student Workbook

CULN 112 Egami, M. SERVSAFE Coursebook (6th ed.) Print. See Circulation Desk.
BOT 130 Elliot, D. Hawaiian Plant Life:  Vegetation and Flora Online. Unlimited users.  Online access
HORT 110 Elliot, D. Botany for Gardeners, 3rd ed. Online. 1 user only.  Online access
HIST 152 Fujita, J. Traditions & Encounters Print. See Circulation Desk.
ICS 270 Hitosugi, C. Systems Analysis and Design Print. See Circulation Desk.
DMED 150 Hochstein, R. Screenplay: The Foundations of Screenwriting  Online. 1 user only. Online access
POLS 110 Iaukea, S. Hawaii:  Islands Under the Influence Online. Unlimited users.  Online access
POLS 110 Iaukea, S. The Queen and I: A story of Dispossessions and Reconnections in Hawaii Online. Unlimited users.  Online access
ELI 40A Kennedy, K. Pathways 3: Listening, Speaking, and Critical Thinking Print. 2 copies. See Circulation Desk.
HIST 151 Khan, A. Patterns of World History (vol. 1) Print. See Circulation Desk.
HIST 151 Khan, A. What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam, 2nd ed. Online. Unlimited users.  Online access
HIST 152 Khan, A. The Heritage of World Civilizations (vol. 2) Print. See Circulation Desk.
PHIL 100, REL 151, REL 207 Laycock, S. The Way of Zen Online. 3 concurrent users only.   Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
REL 207 Laycock, S. What the Buddha Taught Online. 5 concurrent users only.   Online access   
ENG 24 Lee, M. Blue Revolution Print. See Circulation Desk.
-- LIBRARY 2017/2018 ASVAB for Dummies Print. 3 Day Loan See Circulation Desk.
-- LIBRARY ASVAB 2017-2018 Print. 3 Day Loan See Circulation Desk.
SP 151 LIBRARY In the Company of Others (5th ed.) Print. See Circulation Desk.
-- LIBRARY Substance Use Counseling: Theory and Practice Print. 3 Day Loan See Circulation Desk.
-- LIBRARY Understanding Intercultural Communication Print. 3 Day Loan See Circulation Desk.
WS 151 LIBRARY Women's Lives: Multicultural Perspectives Print. See Circulation Desk.
MUS 107 LIBRARY World Music: Traditions and Transformations Print. See Circulation Desk.
GEOG 101 Lindquist, B. Physical Geography Print. 3 copies. See Circulation Desk.
HWST 107 Losch, T. Hawai'i: Center of the Pacific Print. See Circulation Desk.
PACS 108 Losch, T. We Are the Ocean: Selected Works Online. Unlimited users.  Online access
ENG 271 Lum, S. Smoke Signals DVD. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 271 Lum, S. James and the Giant Peach Online. 2 concurrent users only. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 271 Lum, S. Number the Stars Online. 2 concurrent users only. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 272 Lum, S. Anatomy of Film Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 272 Lum, S. The Danish Girl Online. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 272 Lum, S. Doubt: a Parable Online. 2 concurrent users only. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 272 Lum, S. The Namesake Online. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 272 Lum, S. Shutter Island Online. Online access  (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
BIOL 265 MacDonald, A. Big Questions in Ecology and Evolution Print. See Circulation Desk.
ZOOL 200 MacDonald, A. Hawaiiʻs Fishes Print. See Circulation Desk.
ZOOL 200 MacDonald, A. Hawaiʻiʻs Sea Creatures Print. See Circulation Desk.
CHEM 161 / 162 Magnuson, K. Chemistry: The Central Science, 13th ed. Print. See Circulation Desk.
COM 210H Mahi, M. Understanding Intercultural Communication Print. 2 copies. See Circulation Desk.
SP 151 Mahi, M. Understanding Human Communication Print. See Circulation Desk.
PBT 141 McCafferty, H. Botany in a Day Print. See Circulation Desk.
PBT 200 McCafferty, H. Plant Science Print. 3 copies. See Circulation Desk.
PBT 250 McCafferty, H. Landscape Training Manual Print. 3 copies. See Circulation Desk.
BOT 101 Mejia-Velasquez, Paula Introductory Plant Biology Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 270 Oishi, M. The Great Gatsby Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 270 Oishi, M. M. Butterfly Online.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ENG 270 Oishi, M. The Norton Anthology of American Literature Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 270 Oishi, M. One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest Online.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ENG 271 Oishi, M. 1984 Print & Online. 2 concurrent users only.

See Circulation Desk for print copy.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ENG 271 Oishi, M. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Online. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
ENG 271 Oishi, M. Lilith's Brood Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 271 Oishi, M. When the Emperor was Divine Online.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ENG 272 Oishi, M. The Lord of the Rings (The Fellowship of the Ring) Print & Online. 2 concurrent users only.

See Circulation Desk for print copy.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ENG 272 Oishi, M. The Lord of the Rings (The Two Towers) Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 272 Oishi, M. The Lord of the Rings (The Return of the King) Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 272 Oishi, M. The Things They Carried

Print and Online. 2 concurrent users only.

See Circulation Desk for print copy.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ENG 272 Oishi, M. World War Z Print & Online. 2 concurrent users only.

See Circulation Desk for print copy.

Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)

ICS 110M Ramos, A. Samsung Android Tablet (with charger) 2 copies. See Circulation Desk.
SPAN 101 & SPAN 202 Rojas, T. Portales Print. See Circulation Desk.
BIOL 130 Shih, I. Essentials of Human Anatomy & Physiology Print.  See Circulation Desk.
ZOOL 141 / 142 Shih, I. Principles of Anatomy & Physiology Print.  See Circulation Desk.
ENG 24   Blue Revolution:  Unmaking America's Water Crisis Online. 5 concurrent users only.  Online access
PHIL 100 Stegeman, S. The Abolition of Man Online. 5 concurrent users only.  Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
PHIL 110 Stegeman, S. Logic Print. 3 copies  See Circulation Desk.
PHIL 101 Stroble, J. Nicomachean Ethics (Ross) Online. Unlimited users.  Online access
PHIL 101 Stroble, J. An Introduction to the Principles of Morals and Legislation Online. Unlimited users.  Online access
ART 101 Suenaga, K. Prebles' Artforms (11th ed.) Print.  See Circulation Desk.
BUS 101 Sunio, D. GO! with Microsoft Office 2016 Print.  See Circulation Desk.
SP 151 Takamure, C. Understanding Human Communication Print. See Circulation Desk.
SP 251 Takamure, C. Art of Public Speaking(12th ed.) Print.  See Circulation Desk.
SP 251 Takamure, C. Real Communication Print.  See Circulation Desk.
GEOG 101 Teraoka, W. Physical Geography Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 24 Van der Tuin, M. Mindset: The New Psychology of Success Online. 3 concurrent users only.   Online access
ECON 120 Vaughn, R. Essentials of Economics Print. 2 copies. See Circulation Desk.
REL 150 Walters, C. Think: World Religions Print. See Circulation Desk.
BIOL 100 Wang-Lee, J. Biology Online. Online access
HSER 100 Williams, G. I Never Knew I Had a CHOICE: Explorations in Personal Growth Print. See Circulation Desk.
ENG 22 Williams, T. Mindset: The New Psychology of Success Online. 3 concurrent users only. Online access
PHIL 110 Williamson, G. Logic Print. 3 copies. See Circulation Desk.
SP 151 Yokotake, C. SP 151 Problem Solving Group Sample Outline Print. 2 copies. See Circulation Desk.
ANTH 152 Young, F. Leaving Mother Lake Online. 2 copies only. Online access (Collections>Course Reserves Titles)
Regular Library Hours
General Information: (808) 455‑0210
Reference Support: (808) 455‑0379
Kapunawai: (808) 455‑0681